NASCAR expert picks: Talladega

With Talladega right around the corner, the common theme among our NASCAR experts was unpredictability. Dale Jarrett said he might as well pick names out of a hat. Rusty Wallace said it was a total shot in the dark. And Andy Petree laughed.

Two of this year's three restrictor-plate races were won by first-time Sprint Cup winners -- Trevor Bayne and David Ragan (both at Daytona). Jimmie Johnson took the spring Talladega race, but he edged Clint Bowyer by a mere .002 seconds. In fact, every Talladega race in the electronic scoring era has been decided by less than four-tenths of a second.

Excitement? You bet. Picking a winner? Not so easy.

Being good sports, our analysts offered up the drivers they're keeping a close eye on at Talladega Superspeedway. Just don't hold them to it.