Current Cup title hopeful on Trucks pole

RICHMOND, Va. -- Jamie McMurray won the pole for Friday night's NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Kroger 200 at Richmond International Raceway.

A regular on the Nextel Cup series, McMurray covered the
3/4-mile speedway in his Dodge in 21.525 seconds, averaging
125.436 mph. It was his first series pole of the
season and third career.

McMurray raced trucks in 1999 and 2000 before jumping to the
Busch Series. This year, he is 11th in the Nextel Cup
standings, just 25 points out of the "Chase for the
Championship" with one race to go.

McMurray will be joined on the front row by the Dodge of Ted
Musgrave, who clocked 125.191 mph. Sixth in the standings,
Musgrave won the Black Cat Fireworks 200 in Milwaukee from the
pole in June.

The second row is comprised of the Toyotas of Todd Bodine and
rookie David Reutimann. Bodine has raced on all three NASCAR
circuits this year without a top-10 finish, while Reutimann is
looking for his first series win but leads the rookie standings.

Mainstay Jack Sprague rounds out the top five in a Chevrolet.
The three-time series champion has claimed four poles and the
checkered flag at the UAW/GM Ohio 250 in May.

Series points leader Bobby Hamilton qualified a disappointing
24th in a Dodge. The circuit leader in wins (4) and money
($425,735), Hamilton has 2,415 points, just 96 more than Dennis
Setzer with 10 races to go.

Setzer qualified 12th in a Chevrolet as he searches for his
third win of the season. He will be right behind two-time
defending champion Tony Stewart, who starts 10th in a Chevy.

The 2002 Nextel Cup champion, Stewart is racing a truck for just
the fourth time in his career. His only other series start
came at Indianapolis Raceway Park in 1996.

The series returns after a two-week hiatus since the O'Reilly
200, where Carl Edwards claimed his third win of the season.
Edwards, who is third in the standings and just 50 points behind
Setzer, qualified ninth in a Ford.