F1 to have record 19-race schedule

MONTE CARLO, Monaco -- A record 19-race calendar was
approved Friday for the 2005 Formula One season, with the Turkish
Grand Prix joining the lineup.

The British, French and San Marino races remain after facing
cancellation threats. The two North American races are the Canadian
Grand Prix (June 12) and U.S. Grand Prix (June 19) in Indianapolis.

The season will begin as usual with the Australian Grand Prix
(March 6) followed by Malaysia (March 20) and Bahrain (April 3).
Bahrain and China were added in 2004 as part of F1's strategy to
move beyond its European base.

The first European race of 2005 is the San Marino GP (April 24).
It's followed by Grand Prix events in Spain (May 8), Monaco (May
22) and the European GP at Nuerburgring (May 29). The French GP is
July 3, followed by the British on July 10.

The circuit remains in Europe for the next five races: Germany
(July 24), Hungary (July 31), Turkey (Aug. 21), Italy (Sept. 4) and
Belgium (Sept. 11).

The circuit shifts to South America for the Brazilian GP (Sept.
25) before closing in Asia with the Japanese GP (Oct. 9) and
Chinese GP (Oct. 16).