Schneider was dominant in DTM

Bernd Schneider, who retired in 2008, led all DTM drivers last decade in points, wins and poles. AP Photo

We have introduced you to Sebastien Bourdais, Sam Hornish Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Tom Kristensen, Sebastien Loeb and Valentino Rossi as we roll out the nine candidates for ESPN.com's Driver of the Decade -- in alphabetical order -- one at a time. Our panel of experts has voted for its top drivers. You will get your turn in a SportsNation fan vote Friday.

The Driver of the Decade will be revealed Jan. 11.

Meet candidate No. 7 …

Bernd Schneider
Series: DTM

DTM, the popular touring car series in Germany, saw a return in the year 2000 after a hiatus after the 1995 season.

With its return, a nation witnessed the dominance of one Bernd Schneider. He won three of the first four titles since the series returned, becoming the only driver in DTM (Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters) history to win three championships in the span of four seasons. His titles in 2000 and 2001 meant he was the first and only driver to win back-to-back titles. At the time, DTM was just concluding its 15th season of existence. Schneider went on to win the 2006 title as well, making it four titles this decade, the most of any driver.

Despite retiring after the 2008 season, Schneider leads all DTM competitors this decade in points, wins and poles.

Since the turn of the century, Schneider set the fastest lap of the race 28 times, more than three times the number of fastest laps of any other driver.

Tom McKean is a studio researcher at ESPN.