Chelsea's Thibaut Courtois: Gerard Deulofeu penalty 'a clear dive'

Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois accused Watford winger Gerard Deulofeu of diving in the Blues' embarrassing 4-1 loss at Vicarage Road on Monday night.

Deulofeu, on loan from Barcelona, dazzled for Javi Gracia's side, winning a penalty for Watford's opener and scoring the third to put the match out of 10-man Chelsea's reach late.

It was Courtois who was adjudged to have brought down the former AC Milan and Everton man in the box, allowing Troy Deeney to convert from the spot. But the Belgium keeper denied he touched Deulofeu after the match.

"Obviously the penalty is a clear dive," Courtois told Sky Sports.

"Yesterday [in Liverpool and Tottenham's 2-2 draw] we saw when the goalkeeper comes out and is late you make yourself small but the striker puts his foot there and it's a penalty, every time this will happen. He left his foot and dives, it's not a penalty.

"I think we all know this kind of players it happens everywhere in the world, this type of striker sees the goalkeeper coming for the ball, I make myself as small as possible with my belly on the ground and he manufactures the contact. I'm sorry but I don't think it's a penalty."

Tiemoue Bakayoko picked up two yellow cards in the first 30 minutes in what was a disastrous night for the former Monaco man.

However, Courtois didn't agree both were card-worthy offences, adding: "The red card is very light, first never a yellow and the second too light."

Monday's thrashing followed up a 3-0 home loss to Bournemouth last week. Courtois has backed his side to get back on track.

"I think we played a good game against Arsenal after new year although [we] conceded in last minute," he said.

"It's hard to find positive results since two losses and we have to find our form again and get better.

"We have a tough month coming up and we need to pick up points, the Champions League [last-16 tie with Barcelona] is coming soon and we have to continue to work."