2017 Singapore S-League
  • Kento Nagasaki (12')
  • R Nakai (16', 83')
  • Yasutaka Yanagi (22')

Tampines Rovers thrashed by Albirex in S.League yet again

Albirex Niigata (S) extended their incredible winning streak at Jurong East Stadium to 25 matches in all competitions after a 4-0 thrashing of Tampines Rovers in a top-of-the-table S.League clash on Saturday night.

Ryota Nakai starred by scoring two, while Kento Nagasaki and Yasutaka Yanagi grabbed one apiece, as the White Swans went 12 points clear at the top, albeit having played two games more than their nearest challengers.

The result could have been starkly different if Tampines had finished off the first chance of the night on seven minutes.

Hafiz Sujad broke free in the box after exchanging passes with Khairul Amri, but the Singapore international fired wide with his weaker right foot.

Albirex went on to show them how it should be done by breaking the deadlock in the 12th minute.

After Nakai was hacked down by Madhu Mohana on the edge of the box, Nagasaki stepped up to deliver a superb free kick that arrowed past a rooted Izwan Mahbud into the top right corner.

The White Swans doubled their advantage four minutes later, with Nakai receiving Nagasaki's inward pass before firing a speculative 30-yard drive, which Izwan fumbled into goal.

Kazuaki Yoshinaga's side made it three on 22 minutes, with centre-back Yanagi nodding home Nagasaki's outswinging corner.

Opposite number Jurgen Raab reacted by throwing Fazrul Nawaz on after the half-hour mark to partner the isolated Amri in attack, but the Stags found it tough to breach the stout Albirex backline.

Tampines dominated for large periods of the second half, yet failed to put their chances away.

The best opportunity of their night fell to Amri on 64 minutes. However, the veteran Singapore forward somehow curled wide in the box after being teed up by Ryutaro Megumi.

Albirex would seal the victory seven minutes from time, with Nakai striding onto Shuto Inaba's through ball before finishing unerringly into the bottom right corner.

This was their 10th straight win in all competitions as they remained on course to sweep all four domestic trophies again as Tampines came up short once again.

Albirex Niigata (S): Yosuke Nozawa (GK), Hiroyoshi Kamata, Yasutaka Yanagi, Takuyu Akiyama, Naofumi Tanaka, Ryuya Motoda, Rui Kumada, Shuto Inaba (C), Kento Nagasaki, Ryota Nakai (Koki Sato 90'), Shoichiro Sakamoto (Shoma Kondo 87')

Tampines Rovers: Izwan Mahbud (GK), Madhu Mohana, Fahrudin Mustafic (C) (Fazrul Nawaz 34'), Daniel Bennett, Ismadi Mukhtar, Son Yong Chan, Shahdan Sulaiman (Faizal Raffi 46'), Shakir Hamzah, Ryutaro Megumi, Hafiz Sujad, Khairul Amri (Jamil Ali 77')

Singapore S-League News