MLS Cup stats and facts

November, 20, 2010

• FC Dallas is the last remaining original MLS team to reach the final. Columbus and New York were the previous two teams to remove themselves from that list, when each reached the MLS Cup in 2008.

• The Rapids are in the final for the second time, having reached the championship match in 1997. Their 12 seasons between final appearances are by far the longest drought in MLS history. The next longest was a mere four-year drought by D.C. United between winning titles in 1999 and 2004.

• Colorado's MLS Cup appearance also ends the longest active streak since a club's previous final appearance. That honor now falls to both Chicago and San Jose, neither of which has returned to MLS Cup since the Earthquakes topped the Fire 4-2 in 2003.

• Regardless of which team wins, the list of remaining original MLS teams without a title will be winnowed to three. The loser of this game will keep company with New York and New England, which has reached four finals but never won a title.

• Dallas midfielder David Ferreira was named MLS MVP. He could become the fourth MVP to win an MLS Cup in the same season, joining Kansas City's Tony Meola in 2000, Los Angeles' Carlos Ruiz in 2002 and Columbus' Guillermo Barros Schelotto in 2008.


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?