Cobi Jones heads Hall of Fame class

Updated: June 4, 2011, 6:08 PM ET
Associated Press

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. -- Cobi Jones, Eddie Pope and Earnie Stewart have been inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Joining the players at a ceremony before the national team's game against Spain on Saturday are Bruce Murray, inducted as a veteran, and Bob Gansler, who goes in as a builder.

Jones is the national team's appearance leader. Pope was a stalwart of the U.S. defense for almost a decade, and is tied for most World Cup qualifying games in U.S. history. He's the first three-time World Cup veteran to play his entire pro career in MLS.

Stewart is a three-time World Cup veteran, playing 101 games for the national team.

Murray was a midfielder and forward in the 1980s and 1990s. Gansler coached the national team at the 1990 World Cup.

Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press