Federer, Clijsters named ITF world champions

LONDON -- Switzerland's Roger Federer and
Belgian Kim Clijsters were named 2005 world champions by the
governing body of tennis (ITF) on Monday.

World No. 1 Federer is the sixth man to win the award
for two consecutive years after Bjorn Borg, John McEnroe, Ivan
Lendl, Pete Sampras and Lleyton Hewitt, the ITF said in a

He won 11 titles including Wimbledon and the U.S. Open in

Clijsters finished the season ranked second behind Lindsay
Davenport after a superb comeback from a wrist injury.

She won the U.S. Open, her first grand slam title, after
starting the year ranked outside the top 100.