With legendary Keith Jackson and multi-talented Brent Musburger, ABC Sports kicks off its 39th consecutive year of college football in 2004 with the most deepest and talented lineup of announcers on network television. ABC's broadcast lineup also features several new faces, including former NFL Head Coach Dan Reeves, former Falcons All-Pro RB Jamal Anderson, and joining the studio team, former standout college and NFL offensive lineman Aaron Taylor.

Multi-talented Brent Musburger, entering his 15th season as one of the networks' signature voices, is joined by eighth-year analyst and longtime NFL QB Gary Danielson. Jack Arute, a twenty-one year veteran and one of the top reporters in the industry, will work the sidelines. The trio will call the prime- time match-up featuring Florida State-Miami on September 6, at 8:00 p.m., the premiere game on ABC's Labor Day Holiday lineup.

Legendary broadcaster Keith Jackson returns for his 38th season as the "Voice of College Football" with partner, NFL Hall of Famer Dan Fouts. Todd Harris returns for his sixth season roaming the sidelines. Jackson's team, which will work primarily west coast games, will call the Oklahoma State-UCLA game on September 4, at 3;30 p.m., ET.

Brad Nessler, who begins his seventh season as one of network television's most respected play-by-play announcers, will once again team with Pro Football Hall-of-Fame QB Bob Griese, a 19-year veteran and one of the game's most insightful analysts. Hall of Fame WR Lynn Swann, an ABC Sports commentator since 1976, will work the sidelines. They will handle the national showdown between Syracuse and Purdue on September 5 at 1:30 p.m., ET.

ABC's broadcast team of Mike Tirico, Tim Brant and Terry Bowden will be working together for the first time, forming the network's only three-man-booth. Tirico is the lead announcer on ABC's golf and NBA studio coverage, while Brant will return to his familiar role as an analyst. Bowden moves to the booth this season after five years as an analyst with ABC Sports college football studio show. Sam Ryan enters her third season as a sideline reporter. The team will call the Miami (OH) @ Michigan game in the network's season opener on September 4 at 12 Noon, ET.

Gary Thorne, the voice of ESPN's National Hockey League coverage, will begin his second season at ABC. Thorne will work alongside veteran analyst Ed Cunningham, now in his fifth year. Dr. Jerry Punch, who has worked college football games and the Indy Racing League for ABC and ESPN, will report from the sidelines. Newcomer Suzy Shuster, a 10-year veteran of sports broadcasting whose credits include feature correspondent for NBA TV and reporter/anchor for Fox Sports Net, will also work the sideline. Shuster will fill in for Punch on select games. The team will call the Michigan State- Rutgers game on September 4 at 3:30 p.m., ET.

Terry Gannon, who has covered a variety of events for the network, including figure skating, golf and the WNBA, will work regional games. Newcomer Jamal Anderson, a former All-Pro running back who led the Atlanta Falcons to Super Bowl XXXIII, will debut as an analyst. Also joining ABC is Mark Morgan, an anchor for NBA TV Live. Morgan, who has covered a variety of events as a News Correspondent for CNN Sports/CNNSI, will debut as a sideline reporter.

Gary Gerould, a pit reporter on ABC and ESPN Indy racing League coverage, joins ABC's college football broadcast team this season to handle play-by-play. Mike Golic, of ESPN Radio's "Mike and Mike in the Morning" will serve as an analyst on select games.

Former head coach Dan Reeves, who coached the Denver Broncos to five divisional titles and three Super Bowl appearances, will make his first appearance as an analyst on ABC. Reeves had successful careers with the Falcons and the New York Giants. Dave LaMont, the voice and director of 940 Fox Sports Radio in Miami and a 19 year veteran as a sportscaster, will serve as a sideline reporter. Dr. Punch will handle play-by-play on select regional games.

ABC Sports college football studio

John Saunders, who has hosted a college football studio show longer than anyone in television history, returns for his 13th season as the host of ABC Sports College Football Studio show where he will be joined by standout college and NFL football running back and veteran analyst Craig James, and former college and NFL offensive lineman Aaron Taylor.

The studio show, produced and directed by ABC Sports veterans Tim Weinkauf and Calvin Haywood, will have a brand new, state-of-the-art set and will be relocated from Times Square Studios back to the ABC Television Network's broadcast center at West 66th street.

Saunders, who joined ABC in 1990, has been the host for the college football studio show since 1992, longer than anyone in the history of college football studio shows. In addition to his role on the studio show, the versatile Saunders is host of "ESPN The Magazine's Sports Reporters" as well as ESPN's NHL studio. He also does play-by-play for ESPN's coverage of the NBA.

Craig James returns to ABC for his second year in the College Football studio. He rejoined ESPN in July of last year as an analyst on college football games, will continue in that role on select college football games this season. James, who teamed in the backfield at SMU with former ABC commentator Eric Dickerson to form the famed "Pony Express," was named NFL "Offensive Player of the Year" by The Vince Lombardi Committee in 1985, when he rushed for 1,227 yards and five touchdowns. James was a starter in the 1986 Pro Bowl and Super Bowl XX.

New to the studio team this year is former Notre Dame and NFL standout offensive lineman Aaron Taylor. Taylor was a two-time first-team All America lineman at Notre Dame where he won the 1993 Lombardi Trophy. He was drafted 16th overall in the 1994 NFL draft and went on to play in two Super Bowls, receiving a ring as a member of 1997 Super Bowl Champion Packers. Prior to joining ABC, Taylor served as an analyst for College Sports Television (Crystal Ball & CSTV College Football Saturday).

ABC Sports college football announce teams

  • Brent Musburger (play-by-play), Gary Danielson (analyst) and Jack Arute (sidelines)
  • Keith Jackson (play-by-play), Dan Fouts (analyst) and Todd Harris (sidelines)
  • Brad Nessler (play-by-play), Bob Griese (analyst) and Lynn Swann (sidelines)
  • Mike Tirico (play-by-play), Tim Brant (analyst), Terry Bowden (analyst) and Sam Ryan (sidelines)
  • Gary Thorne (play-by-play), Ed Cunningham (analyst) and Dr Jerry Punch (sidelines) or Suzy Shuster (sidelines)
  • Terry Gannon (play-by-play) Jamal Anderson (analyst) and Mark Morgan (sidelines)
  • Gary Gerould (play-by-play) and Mike Golic (analyst)
  • Dr. Jerry Punch (Play-by-Play), Dan Reeves (analyst) and Dave LaMont (sidelines)

    ABC Sports college football studio
  • John Saunders (host), Craig James (analyst) and Aaron Taylor (analyst)