Baseball's postseason history is chock-full of legendary performances, mysterious happenings, amazing plays and epic failures. Now, for the first time, fans can vote on the players, coaches, teams and moments that have stood out the most over countless Octobers as part of's Hall of Fall.

In yet another close vote, the 2001 Seattle Mariners proved to be the biggest playoff underachievers of all time -- at least, according to a large minority of SportsNation. 116 wins evidently meant a lot more than it did back in 1906. The terrible twosome of Jose Canseco and Mark McGwire came in a very close second. Seeing two mighty sluggers humbled so drastically in the playoffs may have given SportsNation cause to "support" them.

Note: The ESPN research team of Mark Simon, Mike Lynch, Dan Braunstein, Greg Dohmann, Gregg Found, Jeremy Lundblad, Justin Havens, David Schoenfield and Rob Neyer contributed to this project.


1906 Chicago Cubs: At 116-36, the 1906 Cubs still hold the NL record for wins, despite only playing 152 games. Their .763 winning percentage is easily the highest since 1900. Led by Mordecai Brown, the pitching staff had a 1.75 ERA, third-lowest of the modern era. However, in the World Series against the White Sox, the Cubs hit just .196 in a stunning defeat to the "Hitless Wonders."

1954 Cleveland Indians: The Indians finished the regular season with the best record in baseball (111-43), but were swept by the Giants in the World Series. The Indians' .724 winning percentage is the third-highest of the World Series era. The team featured three future Hall of Famers in its starting rotation (Early Wynn, Bob Lemon, Bob Feller), not to mention another in its bullpen (Hal Newhouser). However, the offense scored just nine runs and hit .190.

2001 Seattle Mariners (WINNERS): After setting an American League record with 116 wins, the Mariners didn't even reach the World Series. Led by Ichiro Suzuki, who won the Rookie of the Year and MVP awards, and Bret Boone, the Mariners had the highest-scoring offense in the AL. Four different starters won 15 games, as the pitching staff had the best ERA in the majors. However, the bats died in the ALCS against the Yankees, scoring just eight runs in their four losses.

Ty Cobb: Cobb played in three World Series with the Tigers from 1907-1909. He was the AL batting champ each season, but hit just .262 with nine RBI in 17 games. The Tigers lost all three times and Cobb was famously outplayed by Honus Wagner in 1909 in a matchup of baseball's two best players. Cobb won eight more batting titles but never returned to the World Series.

The Bash Brothers: Jose Canseco's postseason totals: a .184 average with seven homers and 18 RBI in 30 games. His partner in bashing was even worse: Mark McGwire hit .217 with only five homers and 14 RBI in 42 games. The pair combined to go 2-for-36 in the 1988 World Series loss to the Dodgers.

Comment »