The Lou Groza Award is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. He is regarded as the first kicker to be truly considered an offensive weapon. In 2007 the award was won by Thomas Weber of Arizona State.

To find out the official winners of college football's major awards, tune into The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards, (live on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 10, at 7 p.m. ET). Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will host the show which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

  • Statistics as of Monday, November 23.

    Vote: Bednarik | Biletnikoff | Ray Guy | Maxwell | O'Brien |Outland | Thorpe | Walker

    The Nominees

    Kai Forbath: Forbath only missed three field goals out of the 29 he attempted for UCLA this year, and all three were from fifty yards or more. Forbath is currently the leading kicker in the country in terms of total field goals made.

    Leigh Tiffin: Tiffin is right on Forbath's heels in terms of total field goals made, field goal percentage, and scoring. Tiffin was responsible for all of Alabama's points in a 12-10 win over Tennessee, including the eventual game-winner.

    Blair Walsh: Walsh has only missed one kick all year; he's otherwise perfect on both field goals and extra points. Walsh hit a game-winning 37-yard field goal with no time remaining in Georgia's 20-17 win over Arizona St., capping a Bulldog comeback from down 14-3.

  • Comment »