Four of the most storied programs in college basketball history - Duke, Michigan State, Kentucky and Kansas - will make up the inaugural Champions Classic, an early-season basketball event to take place at New York's Madison Square Garden on November 15. The Blue Devils will face off against the Spartans and the Wildcats will square up against the Jayhawks. A preview to the NCAA Tournament? You tell us.

Pick your leader?

Don't discount motivation. John Calipari's recent two-year contract extension and raise with Kentucky includes a $700,000 payment for every NCAA championship he wins.


Start party planning now?

Last championship won:
Duke: 2010 (35-5), Defeated Butler 61-59
Kansas: 2008 (37-3), Defeated Memphis 75-68
Kentucky: 1998 (35-4), Defeated Utah 78-69
Michigan St.: 2000 (32-7), Defeated Florida 89-76


Biggest game on biggest stage?

Danny Manning was a two-time NBA All-Star, Sixth Man of the Year and played for seven different NBA teams, but we prefer what he did his last night as a college player.


Better matchup?

Kansas, Kentucky, Duke and Michigan State have appeared in a combined 50 NCAA Tournament Final Fours and won 16 national championships.


Comment »