The Davey O'Brien Award is named after the player at TCU who was on 13 All-America teams and became the only college football player to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp trophies in the same year. The 2011 winner of the Davey O'Brien Award was Robert Griffin III.

To find out the official winners of college football's major awards, tune into "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show live on ESPN at 7:30 p.m. ET on Dec. 6. Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Steele will host the show, which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Statistics as of Monday, Nov. 19.

More: Maxwell | Bednarik | Lou Groza | Outland | Biletnikoff | Thorpe | Walker | Ray Guy

The Davey O'Brien Award Nominees

Collin Klein: The Kansas State senior quarterback has accounted for 34 of the Wildcats' 50 offensive touchdowns this season. He became the first quarterback from a BCS AQ school in the BCS era with 20 rushing touchdowns and 10 passing touchdowns in multiple seasons. His 53 career rushing touchdowns rank second among all active players, and are the fourth-most in Big 12 history, and he's thrown for at least 200 yards in six of his 11 games this season.

Johnny Manziel: The redshirt freshman has made quite a first impression. "Johnny Football" has rushed for a freshman quarterback record 1,114 yards, and his 4,161 yards of total offense are a school record for any class and a national record for freshmen. He's just the fifth player in FBS history to pass for at least 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000, and the first to do it as a freshman, all while leading Texas A&M to a 9-2 mark in the Aggies' first year in the SEC.

Braxton Miller: Ohio State's sophomore quarterback has thrived under new coach Urban Meyer. Miller has thrown for 1,850 yards, rushed for 1,214 yards and accounted for 27 total touchdowns. Miller is only the third player in Buckeyes history to record at least 3,000 yards of total offense in a season. Perhaps even more impressive is Ohio State's record (11-0) under Miller.

Comment »