DOTA 2: The Bucharest Major

Eighteen teams are headed to Bucharest, Romania for the fourth Major of the 2017-2018 Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) where a $1 million prize pool and 1,500 DPC points are up for grabs.

ESL Katowice might have shaken the DPC Leaderboard two weeks ago. Fnatic almost toppled Evil Geniuses and Mineski by making their way to a Major top four, Vici Gaming used to be tied with Mineski but now sits comfortably at DPC top four, while Virtus.Pro successfully overtook Team Secret at the top spot. With back-to-back Valve Majors happening, this DPC race might be shaken once again, however. Most especially because of the fact that 14 out of the 18 teams participating at the Bucharest Major already have DPC points, and that there's a fresh 7.10 patch update.

The Bucharest Major will run from March 4 to 11. This includes a different group stage format as compared to other Majors: much like the Kiev Major format a year ago, the 16 teams will be placed in a single group to play the Swiss-system format. In this group stage, all matches will be played in a BO1, and all opposing teams will have the same win/loss record. Therefore, teams who won the first round will be facing each other in the second round, while teams who lost the first round will be facing each other in the second round. This will go on for five rounds, for example, 0-2 teams will face 0-2 teams and 2-1 teams will face 2-1 teams.

Only the top eight teams from the group stage will advance to the playoffs. At this stage, they will be seeded accordingly into a single-elimination bracket where all matches are played in a BO3, excluding the BO5 grand finals.

Here are the teams competing:

Team Liquid (Directly Invited)

  • Lasse Aukusti "MATUMBAMAN" Urpalainen

  • Amer "Miracle-" Al-Barqawi

  • Ivan Borislavov "MinD_ContRoL" Ivanov Maroun "GH" Merhej

  • Kuro "KuroKy" Salehi Takhasomi

Newbee (Directly Invited)

  • Xu "Moogy" Han

  • Song "Sccc" Chun

  • Damien "kpii" Chok

  • Hu "Kaka" Liangzhi

  • Zeng "Faith" Hongda

Evil Geniuses (Directly Invited)

  • Artour "Arteezy" Babaev

  • Syed Sumail "SumaiL" Hassan

  • Saahil " UNiVeRsE" Arora

  • Andreas Franck "Cr1t" Nielsen

  • Clinton "Fear" Loomis

Natus Vincere (Directly Invited)

  • Vladislav "Crystallize" Krystanek

  • Danil "Dendi" Ishutin

  • Victor "GeneRaL" Nigrini

  • Ilya "Lil" Ilyuk

  • Nikola "LeBronDota" Popović

Mineski (Directly Invited)

  • Kam "Moon" Boon Seng

  • Chai "Mushi" Yee Fung

  • Daryl Koh "iceiceice" Pei Xiang

  • Anucha "Jabz" Jirawong

  • Michael "ninjaboogie" Ross Jr.

Vici Gaming (Directly Invited)

  • Zhang "Paparazi灬" Chengjun

  • Zeng "Ori" Jiaoyang

  • Ren "eLeVeN" Yangwei

  • Zhang "LaNm" Zhicheng

  • Lu "Fenrir" Chao

LGD.Forever Young (Directly Invited)

  • Du "Monet" Peng

  • Xie "Super" Junhao

  • Khoo "Ohaiyo" Chong Xin

  • Yao "Yao" Zhengzheng

  • Tue "ah fu" Soon Chuan

Virtus.Pro (Directly Invited)

  • Roman "RAMZES666" Kushnarev

  • Vladimir "No[o]ne" Minenko

  • Pavel "9pasha" Khvastunov

  • Vladimir "RodjER" Nikogosyan

  • Alexei "Solo" Berezin

Team Secret (Directly Invited)

  • Marcus "Ace" Hoelgaard

  • Yeik "MidOne" Nai Zheng

  • Adrian "Fata" Trinks

  • Yazied "YapzOr" Jaradat

  • Clement "Puppey" Ivanov

OG (Europe Qualifier)

  • Johan "N0tail" Sundstein

  • Roman "Resolut1on" Fominok

  • Gustav "s4" Magnusson

  • Jesse "JerAx" Vainikka

  • Tal "Fly" Aizik

Vega Squadron (CIS Qualifier)

  • Ilya "ALOHADANCE" Korobkin

  • Sergey Alexandrovich "G" Bragin

  • Vasily "AfterLife" Shishkin

  • Bakyt "Zayac" Emilzhanov

  • Semion "CemaTheSlayer" Krivulya

VGJ.Thunder (China Qualifier)

  • Liu "Sylar" Jiajun

  • Liu "Kamma" Chang

  • Zhou "Yang" Haiyang

  • Pan "Fade" Yi

  • Leong "ddc" Fat-meng

TNC (SEA Qualifier)

  • Marc Polo Luis "Raven" Fausto

  • Armel Paul "Armel" Tabios

  • Samson Solomon "Sam_H" Hidalgo

  • Timothy John "Tims" Randrup

  • Carlo "Kuku" Palad

OpTic Gaming (North America Qualifier)

  • Per Anders Olsson "Pajkatt" Lille

  • Quinn "CC&C" Callahan

  • Ludwig "zai" Wåhlberg

  • Neta "33" Shapira

  • Peter "ppd" Dager

paiN Gaming (South America Qualifier)

  • William "hFn" Medeiros

  • Aliwi "w33" Omar

  • Otávio "Tavo" Gabriel

  • Danylo "Kingrd" Nascimento

  • Heitor "Duster" Pereira