Team will play U.S. Olympic team

NEW YORK -- Connecticut Sun stars Nykesha Sales and Taj
McWilliams-Franklin will start for the WNBA All-Star team that will
play the U.S. Olympic squad.

The WNBA selected its five starters Thursday for the game Aug. 5
at Radio City Music Hall. Joining Sales at forward will be
Detroit's Cheryl Ford. McWilliams-Franklin will be the center,
while the guards will be Nikki Teasley of Los Angeles and Anna
DeForge of Phoenix.

Washington's Chamique Holdsclaw was selected as a starting
forward, but will be unable to participate because of a prior
commitment to run a basketball camp.

Detroit Shock coach Bill Laimbeer will coach the WNBA team.
Laimbeer and his staff will select the five reserves next Thursday.

The final player on the roster will be chosen by fans through
voting on the league's Web site.

Many of the top WNBA players are on the U.S. squad: Sue Bird of
Seattle, Swin Cash of Detroit, Tamika Catchings of Indiana, Yolanda
Griffith of Sacramento, Shannon Johnson of San Antonio, Lisa Leslie
and DeLisha Milton-Jones of Los Angeles, Katie Smith of Minnesota,
Dawn Staley of Charlotte, Sheryl Swoopes of Houston, Diana Taurasi
of Phoenix and Tina Thompson of Houston.

Milton-Jones underwent right knee surgery Monday and is expected
to miss the Olympics.