Experts split on MVP award

It figures. In a season where the playoff race is tighter than ever, figuring out exactly which players should win the regular-season hardware is equally hard to define.

While ESPN.com's experts saw eye-to-eye on three categories, Nancy Lieberman and Mechelle Voepel went in different directions for the big one: the MVP award. While Houston's Sheryl Swoopes (18.7 points per game) currently edges out Seattle's Lauren Jackson (18.0) as the WNBA's scoring leader, Jackson's Storm have clinched one thing the Comets haven't: a playoff berth. But our experts think both players are worthy of the WNBA's highest individual honor. Swoopes is a two-time MVP; Jackson, who ranks second in rebounds with 9.5 per game, won in 2003.

Both players were included on the experts' WNBA all-league teams.

ESPN analyst Nancy Lieberman and columnist Mechelle Voepel are regular contributors to ESPN.com's women's basketball coverage.