WNBA releases '14 season schedule

The defending WNBA champion Minnesota Lynx will visit the Washington Mystics on the opening night of the 2014 WNBA season May 16, the league announced Thursday.

The Lynx-Mystics showdown will be part of a five-game opening night slate that also will feature the New York Liberty at Connecticut, San Antonio Stars at the Atlanta Dream and Los Angeles Sparks at the Seattle Storm.

The Eastern Conference champion Chicago Sky will close out the night when they host the Indiana Fever.

The Lynx also will be showcased on Memorial Day when they visit 2013 WNBA Rookie of the Year Elena Delle Donne and the Sky. The Sky had the best record in the Eastern Conference last season and made the playoffs for the first time in franchise history.

Every team will get a break from the league's 205-game regular-season schedule from July 18-21 for All-Star festivities that will be held July 19 in Phoenix.

The regular season concludes Aug. 17 with a five-game slate featuring 10 of the league's 12 teams. The schedule is more compact this season so that the playoffs will be done before the women's basketball world championship in Turkey that begins at the end of September.

For the regular-season schedule in its entirety, click here.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.