Sheryl Swoopes headlines Women's Basketball Hall of Fame finalists

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Sheryl Swoopes headlines the 12 finalists for the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

The group, which was unveiled Monday, also includes former UConn star Kara Wolters and former WNBA and ABL standout Crystal Robinson. Coaches Joan Bonvicini and Rick Insell were also nominated. The six-member class of 2017 will be announced on ESPN on Feb. 12 and enshrined this summer.

Swoopes was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame last fall. She starred at Texas Tech and in the WNBA. Swoopes also won three Olympic gold medals for the U.S.

Another finalist is Yelena Baranova, who helped Russia win an Olympic gold medal in 1992. Coaches Evelyn Blalock and Rose Marie Battaglia also are among the final 12.

Nora Lynn Finch, who was the first chair of the NCAA women's basketball committee, and Christine Grant, the founding member of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, are up as contributors. Louise O'Neal is on the list as a veterans' pick, and official Sally Bell rounds out the group.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.