Chamique Holdsclaw, UConn's Chris Dailey among 10 finalists for Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Former Tennessee star Chamique Holdsclaw and longtime UConn associate head coach Chris Dailey are among the 10 finalists for the 2018 induction class at the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

The hall announced its finalists on Thursday. On Feb. 12, it will announce the official class of 2018, and the winner of this year's Trailblazer Award. Those individuals will be introduced at the Women's Final Four in March/April in Columbus, Ohio.

The induction ceremony at the Hall of Fame, located in Knoxville, Tennessee, will be June 9.

Holdsclaw was a four-time All-American who led Tennessee to NCAA titles in 1996, '97 and '98. She was the WNBA's No. 1 draft pick by Washington in 1999. She won an Olympic gold medal with the U.S. team in 2000, and played 11 seasons in the WNBA, finishing in 2010 with 4,716 points and 2,126 rebounds. Holdsclaw has gone on to become a mental-health advocate and public speaker.

Dailey went to UConn when Geno Auriemma took over the program in 1985, and is in her 33rd year as his top assistant. She has been an integral part of 11 NCAA titles and 1,005 victories with the Huskies. Auriemma was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006.

Holdsclaw is not the only Tennessee connection among the 2018 finalists.

Mickie DeMoss, part of six of Tennessee's eight NCAA titles, is also on the list. She was both an assistant and head coach during her many stints coaching in college. She also has been a WNBA assistant.

The other seven finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Elena Baranova, who competed internationally for 22 years in Russia and played seven seasons in the WNBA between 1997 and 2005. She averaged 10.1 points and 6.4 rebounds in her time with Utah, Miami and New York. She started playing for the Soviet/Russian national team in 1989 at the age of 17, and won Olympic gold in 1992 (with what that year was called the Unified Team). She also played in two other Olympics. She won two silver medals in the World Championship with the Russian team, for whom she played in 105 games in various events.

  • Coach Ceal Barry, who had a 510-284 career record at Colorado and Cincinnati. She was a four-time Big Eight Coach of the Year with the Buffaloes, and is now an athletic administrator at Colorado.

  • Rose Marie Battaglia, who coached high school and junior-college basketball for 38 years (at times simultaneously) in New Jersey. She made four NJCAA final four appearances, and coached Anne Donovan in high school.

  • Vickie Orr, who was the 1988 SEC Player of the Year, helped lead Auburn to Women's Final Four appearances in 1988 and '89. Orr played for the United States in the 1990 World Championship, winning gold, and 1992 Olympics, winning bronze.

  • Katie Smith, who won three Olympic gold medals with the United States (2000, '04, '08), two ABL titles with Columbus (1997, '98), and two WNBA titles with Detroit (2006, '08). Smith finished her 15-season WNBA career in 2013 with 6,452 points, and is currently head coach of the New York Liberty. She played collegiately at Ohio State, leading the Buckeyes to the 1993 NCAA final as a freshman.

  • Valerie Still, who is Kentucky's all-time leading scorer (2,763) and rebounder (1,525). She led the Wildcats to their only SEC tournament championship in 1982. She played overseas in Italy for more than a decade, and won two ABL titles with Columbus (1997, '98), being named the most valuable player in the league's playoffs both seasons. She played one season (1999) in the WNBA with Washington.

  • Tina Thompson, who won four WNBA titles with the Houston Comets (1997-2000) and two Olympic gold medals (2004, 2008) with the United States. She finished her 17-season WNBA career in 2013 with 7,488 points, second most in league history behind Diana Taurasi, and 3,070 rebounds. Thompson, a Southern California grad, currently is an assistant coach at Texas.