South Carolina's A'ja Wilson wins Wade Trophy as player of year

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- South Carolina senior A'ja Wilson won the Wade Trophy as women's college basketball's national player of the year and helped headline the Women's Basketball Coaches Association's All-America team, as announced Thursday at Nationwide Arena, site of the Women's Final Four.

Six of the All-Americans are participating in the Final Four: Mississippi State's Teaira McCowan and Victoria Vivians, UConn's Katie Lou Samuelson and Gabby Williams, Louisville's Asia Durr, and Notre Dame's Arike Ogunbowale.

The other All-Americans are Baylor's Kalani Brown, Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu, Ohio State's Kelsey Mitchell and Wilson.

Wilson, Mitchell, Vivians and Williams are seniors and are expected to be first-round WNBA draft picks on April 12. McCowan, Samuelson, Durr, Ogunbowale and Brown are juniors. Ionescu is a sophomore.

Wilson also won The Associated Press Player of the Year award on Thursday, and Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw was the AP's Coach of the Year.