Six to be inducted into WBHOF

Indiana Fever coach Lin Dunn is one of six inductees in the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame class of 2014.

Dunn is joined by former WNBA players Yolanda Griffith and Michelle Edwards, former University of Maryland and Yugoslavian star Jasmina Perazic, and women's basketball contributors Mimi Griffin and Charlotte West.

The honorees, who were announced during Saturday's WNBA All-Star Game, will be inducted June 14 in Knoxville, Tenn.

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's 16th group of inductees also will honor the 1976 U.S. Olympic team in a display called Trailblazers of the Game.

A closer look at each member of the class of 2014 (photos and bio information courtesy of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame):


The WNBA coach led Indiana to the 2012 championship and has compiled a record of 144-139 in her nine seasons in the league. Dunn was the 1998 ABL Coach of the Year and the 2009 runner-up for WNBA Coach of the Year. In the college ranks, she was 447-257 over 25 years, leading Purdue to three Big Ten titles and guiding her teams to four Sweet 16 appearances and one Final Four. Dunn coached three Kodak All-Americans.


Edwards played for the University of Iowa, leading the Hawkeyes to a 102-22 record from 1984-88. She is the only Hawkeyes women's basketball player to have her jersey retired. As a senior, Edwards' Hawkeyes achieved their first No. 1 national ranking. The 1988 Kodak All-American ranks second at Iowa in career assists (431), third in career scoring (1,821) and third in career steals (235). She played five seasons in the WNBA and was the first girl in Massachusetts state history to score more than 2,000 points in high school (Boston's Cathedral High).


Considered the first broadcast expert for women's basketball, Griffin worked as an ESPN analyst from 1983-99. She was the color analyst for the Women's Final Four from 1985-91. In 1990, Griffin became the first female analyst for a men's NCAA tournament game on ESPN and became the first woman to cover the first two rounds of the men's tournament on CBS Sports in 1991.


A two-time Olympic gold medalist, 11-year WNBA veteran and eight-time WNBA All-Star, Griffith led Sacramento to the 2005 championship. In 1999, she swept the league's awards for MVP, Defensive Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year. Griffith also was a two-time WNBA All-First Team honoree and was named to the league's All-Decade Team. Before joining the WNBA, Griffith was named the ABL Defensive Player of the Year in 1998. She started her college career as a junior college All-American before winning the WBCA Division II Player of the Year award while at Florida Atlantic University.


The Yugoslavian star led the University of Maryland to the 1982 Women's Final Four and was a 1983 Kodak All-American and co-MVP of the ACC tournament. Perazic, who helped the Terps reach at least the Elite Eight every year of her college career, helped Maryland win three ACC titles. Hers is one of only three retired jerseys at Maryland. A member of the ACC's Silver Anniversary and 50th ACC Anniversary teams, Perazic also was a two-time member of the Yugoslavian Olympic team, winning a bronze medal in 1980 and winning gold at the 1987 World University Games.


An advocate for women's sports and a pioneer for Title IX, West was the 1975 director of national championships for the AIAW. Serving numerous positions for the NCAA over the years, West was the 1986 WBCA administrator of the year. She was the first recipient of the Honda Award, a national honor given for outstanding achievement in women's collegiate athletics. From 1960-86, West served as the athletic director for women at Southern Illinois University, transforming the department into a nationally recognized program. The 1969 SIU golf team won the national championship the same year the SIU basketball team placed fifth nationally.