Mirra takes third at 100 Acre Wood Rally

Dave Mirra and co-driver Marshall Clarke at a junction in Stage 9 on the 100 Acre Wood Rally. Courtesy of Subaru

Dave Mirra, professional BMX rider and current holder of the most X Games medals (24 to date), finished in third place at the 100 Acre Wood Rally in Salem, Missouri on Saturday. The third place finish was Mirra and co-driver Marshall Clarke's second consecutive podium finish of the year. Mirra and Clarke, driving SRT USA #40, finished behind Antoine L'Estage and Nathalie Richard (first place) and Subaru Rally Team USA's David Higgins and co-driver Craig Drew (second).

"Antoine and David are in their own league. I feel like I'm the extra spot on the podium. I was doing my own thing, but I had a lot of time to figure it out, try new things and really race my own race. Today I learned a lot," said Mirra following the race.

The Rally in the 100 Acre Wood is based in Salem, Missouri and is well known for its fast and flowing stage roads, spread over 120 competitive miles spread throughout the foothills of the Ozark Mountains. This year, crews were challenged with unusually damp conditions after heavy rainfall on the Thursday before the rally began. Mirra and Clarke ran a flawless rally over two days and now stand in second place overall championship points for 2011.

"I came into 2011 with a different attitude," said Mirra. "I really focused a lot, and took a more humble approach. I think more about it, step by step. It took me a long time to realize that notes are important too. Driving is one thing, but notes are a whole new ballgame. And to trust your co-driver and notes is a huge thing that most people don't understand in stage rally."

A surprise last-minute entry from former SRT USA driver Travis Pastrana was short lived when Pastrana and co-driver Jeremy Wimpey crashed and rolled their 2007 ex-Colin McRae WRX STI on a left-hand corner on the second stage of the rally.

The 100 Acre Wood Rally is the second of six rounds in the Rally America National Championship and has traditionally been won by Ken Block and co-driver Alex Gelsomino since 2006.

"It was great, awesome road, tons of fans," concluded Mirra.

The next event in the 2011 Rally America series is the Olympus Rally in Ocean Shores, Washington on April 30 - May 1.