Dave Mirra Earns First Rally Win, Will Join Subaru Rally Team USA as 3rd Driver in 2009

(Jan 27, 2009)— After having competed in only a handful of rally events, BMX legend Dave Mirra has won his first rally race, the 2009 Team O'Neil Rally, at the wheel of his 2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STI rally car. Mirra dominated the New Hampshire-based snow rally by
setting fastest time on all but one of the event's eight stages and finishing with a lead of fifty seconds. The wins comes just over one year after Mirra began his burgeoning rally career that has since seen him be named the 2008 Rally America Rookie of the Year as well as earn a Bronze medal at last summer's X Games 14 Rally Car Racing event.

"I'm really excited to get my first win, the roads were a lot of fun here," explained Mirra. "Running in these snowy conditions was perfect preparation for the Sno*Drift Rally [which serves as the first round of the Rally America Championship] next week, so I will have a lot more confidence from the start."

Mirra's rally program will expand in 2009 with increased support from Subaru of America, Inc. and Monster Energy that will see him join Subaru Rally Team USA drivers Ken Block and Travis Pastrana at all nine rounds of the 2009 Rally America National Championship as well as X Games 15. Mirra will compete in the new Super Production class and will debut a 2008 Subaru Impreza WRX STI early in the race season.

Subaru Rally Team USA is proudly supported by Subaru of America, Subaru Tecnica International (STI), Subaru Performance Tuning (SPT), DC Shoes, BFGoodrich Tires, RECARO, Alpinestars, Motul, Exedy, GReddy, and Vermont SportsCar.