Six added to Skateboarding Hall of Fame

Among this year's inductees are Bob Burnquist, seen here at Skate Vert finals at X Games 16. Bryce Kanights/Shazamm/ESPN Image

Six skateboarders have been announced as new inductees into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame. The honored skateboarders are Torger Johnson, Stacy Peralta, Steve Caballero, Eric Koston, Bob Burnquist and Patti McGee. McGee is the Hall of Fame's first female inductee.

The first skaters welcomed into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame, in October 2009, were Bruce Logan, Tony Alva, Tony Hawk and Danny Way. This year marks the second annual induction, which is put on by the International Association of Skateboarding Companies and Skatelab.

"Skateboardings rich culture has been built around iconic heroes that have helped to take skateboarding to another level of progression, inspiration and fun," said John Bernards, executive director of the International Association of Skateboarding Companies. "IASC recognizes the importance of honoring the pros that made skateboarding what it is today -- without the icons and legends the tricks skateboarders are doing today would not exist. This year's inductees represent the best, most progressive skateboarding from 1960 to 2010 and we congratulate each of them on their accomplishments."

IASC members and skateboard industry insiders voted electronically to select this year's names. "The goal of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Museum," said Todd Huber, founder of Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Museum, "is to assure that these legendary skateboarders are recognized by their peers and will be remembered by future generations."

A ceremony to celebrate the inductees takes place in Los Angeles on December 4.