ACC lands 13 on Lombardi watch list

The Lombardi Award released its preliminary watch list, and 13 ACC players made the cut. The list will be reshaped again before the season begins.

The award is given annually to the best lineman on either side of the ball, or linebackers that line up near the line of scrimmage.

The last ACC player to win the award was Julius Peppers in 2001.

Here's who made the list this season:

  • Marvin Austin, DT, North Carolina

  • Allen Bailey, DT/DE, Miami

  • Da'Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson

  • Bruce Carter, LB, North Carolina

  • Anthony Castonzo, OL, Boston College

  • Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College

  • Rodney Hudson, OL, Florida State

  • Nate Irving, LB, NC State

  • Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College

  • Robert Quinn, DE, North Carolina

  • Barquell Rivers, LB, Virginia Tech

  • Quan Sturdivant, LB, North Carolina

  • Alex Wujciak, LB, Maryland

That's a lot of guys, and a lot from North Carolina. Four, to be exact. As you saw yesterday, scouts are taking notice, too. Will it translate into more wins in 2010 for the Tarheels?

Also interesting: the lack of offensive players on the list. Could be a long year for offensive lines in the conference.