Winston named ACC Player of the Year

Florida State redshirt freshman quarterback Jameis Winston has been named the ACC's 2013 Player of the Year in a vote by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). Winston becomes the first underclassman in the ACC’s 61-year history to receive the award.

From the release:

Winston, a native of Bessemer, Ala., was the choice of 47 of the 65 ACSMA members casting ballots. Boston College running back Andre Williams placed second with 13 votes. Pitt defensive tackle Aaron Donald was named on four ballots, while Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd, the 2012 ACC Player of the Year, received one vote.

Donald was voted the 2013 ACC Defensive Player of the Year, while Winston picked up the ACC Offensive Player of the Year award in addition to his overall honor.