Quarterbacks highlight ACC media days schedule

The ACC announced the players scheduled to attend ACC Kickoff later this month in Pinehurst, North Carolina. It should come as no surprise that quarterbacks highlight the list, considering the overall depth at the position across the league.

Six are scheduled to attend, including Justin Thomas, Brad Kaaya, Marquise Williams and Jacoby Brissett.

But there were still some notable omissions. Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, pegged to be perhaps the best quarterback in the conference, won't be there. Neither will Florida State transfer quarterback Everett Golson.

Or anybody on offense from Louisville or Wake Forest.

That proved to be most newsworthy of all: The Seminoles, Cards and Deacs chose not to bring offensive players. Florida State will have preseason All-America candidate Jalen Ramsey and Lou Groza winner Roberto Aguayo. Louisville will have two of its best defensive players, Sheldon Rankins and James Burgess. Wake Forest brings punter Alex Kinal and linebacker Brandon Chubb.

Generally speaking, it is customary to bring one representative from offense and one from defense. But in the case of Florida State and Louisville, there remains uncertainty at quarterback and much rebuilding to do across the offense. Wake Forest was abysmal on offense last season, and Kinal has a good chance to win All-ACC honors at punter.

Still, two special teams representatives is highly unusual.

Two more interesting tidbits: Only two sophomores are on the list: Kaaya at Miami and Zaire Franklin at Syracuse. Marquise Williams is the only player making back-to-back media day appearances.

Here is the complete list. ACC Kickoff starts July 19.

Harris Williams, OL, Boston College

Mehdi Abdesmad, DT, Boston College

Eric Mac Lain, OL, Clemson

D.J. Reader, DT, Clemson

Matt Skura, C, Duke

Jeremy Cash, S, Duke

Roberto Aguayo, K, Florida State

Jalen Ramsey, CB Florida State

Justin Thomas, QB, Georgia Tech

D.J. White, DB, Georgia Tech

James Burgess, LB, Louisville

Sheldon Rankins, DT, Louisville

Brad Kaaya, QB, Miami

Raphael Kirby, LB, Miami

Marquise Williams, QB, North Carolina

Jeff Schoettmer, LB, North Carolina

Jacoby Brissett, QB, NC State

Mike Rose, DE, NC State

James Conner, RB, Pitt

Darryl Render, DT, Pitt

Terrel Hunt, QB, Syracuse

Zaire Franklin, LB, Syracuse

Canaan Severin, WR, Virginia

David Dean, DT, Virginia

Michael Brewer, QB, Virginia Tech

Kendall Fuller, CB, Virginia Tech

Alex Kinal, P, Wake Forest

Brandon Chubb, LB, Wake Forest