ACC's top 10 moments of the decade

They were moments in ACC history that we'll never forget. Some were moments in a particular game, or a moment of individual national recognition, others a celebration of the end to a championship drought -- or a celebration of a legendary career. Different fans and schools will obviously hold some of these moments in higher regard than others, but all of them at some point left their mark on the ACC.

1. Bobby Bowden retires. On Dec. 1, 2009, Bowden announced the Gator Bowl would be his last game as Florida State's head coach, closing the chapter on a career that spanned six decades. His final moment? When he took the flaming FSU spear from Chief Osceola and stuck it into the turf at midfield, one of Florida State's most revered pregame traditions. With the win over his former team, West Virginia, Bowden finished with a 389-129-4 record, and a 33rd consecutive winning season.

2. Chris Weinke wins the Heisman Trophy in 2000. He was the ACC’s last winner of the prestigious award. That season, Weinke led the defending national champions to the national championship game against Oklahoma, where the short-handed Seminoles lost, 13-2. Still, it was the program's third consecutive appearance in the national title game, making FSU the only school to appear in three straight BCS national title games.

3. Conference expansion. Virginia Tech and Miami joined the league in July 2003 (though their first seasons were in 2004), and Boston College accepted the offer to join the league in October 2003 (and started conference play in 2005). Expansion divided the conference into two divisions and produced a championship game that has since garnered mixed reviews.

4. Wide right. On Oct. 7, 2000, at Miami, Florida State walk-on kicker Matt Munyon was wide right from 51 yards for the tying field goal as time expired, securing Miami’s 27-24 win. It was the lone regular-season loss for FSU (11-2), and it snapped a 17-game winning streak which had included Florida State's Jan. 4, 2000, 46-29 Sugar Bowl victory over Virginia Tech to secure the wire-to-wire No. 1 run to a national championship.

5. Wake Forest wins school’s first ACC title since 1970. In 2006, unheralded Wake Forest -- the smallest school in the BCS -- claimed its second ACC title and first in 37 years with a 9-6 win over Georgia Tech in the ACC championship game in Jacksonville, Fla. Wake Forest won a school-record 11 games and became the first ACC team to go 6-0 on the road.

6. Virginia Tech wins ACC title in first season. In its inaugural season, the Hokies announced their presence with a conference title and 7-1 record in ACC play. Virginia Tech edged FSU by one game, and it was a foreshadowing of what was to come, as the Hokies won the ACC championship in three of their first five seasons in the conference.

7. Matt Ryan’s “Heisman moment.” Former BC quarterback Matt Ryan orchestrated one of the conference’s greatest comebacks, when he led the Eagles to a 14-10 win over Virginia Tech in Blacksburg on an ESPN Thursday night game. Ryan threw two touchdown passes in the final 2:11, including a scrambling 24-yarder to Andre Callender with 11 seconds remaining. ESPN’s Kirk Herbstreit called it Ryan’s “Heisman moment.”

8. Orange Bowl Bust: Virginia’s 48-0 win over Miami in 2007 in the final game played at the Orange Bowl will go down in history with the dilapidated old facility. It was an embarrassing performance in front of dozens of former Miami stars in what was the biggest shutout loss in the stadium’s history. It was Miami's first home shutout loss since Oct. 4, 1974, against Auburn. The last time Miami lost by more points at home was in 1944, when Texas A&M beat the Hurricanes 70-14.

9. Virginia Tech’s 20-7 Orange Bowl win over Cincinnati. The win over Cincinnati snapped an eight-game losing streak in BCS bowls by ACC teams, and was just the second win in a BCS bowl for an ACC team (Florida State in the 2000 Sugar Bowl). The Hokies’ defense ended the 2008 season with four interceptions in that game.

10. He's No. 1. NC State defensive end Mario Williams was selected as the No. 1 pick in the NFL draft. It was the only time in league history that has happened. In 2005, he set school single-season records for tackles for loss (27.5) and sacks (14.5). He finished as NC State’s career record holder with 55.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage.