ACC announces media day attendees

The ACC released the list of players attending next week’s ACC Kickoff in Charlotte, North Carolina, and there is little to complain about from a media perspective.

Reigning league player of the year Deshaun Watson headlines things for Clemson, with runner-up Dalvin Cook from Florida State also attending next week. Other big names include Miami quarterback Brad Kaaya, Georgia Tech quarterback Justin Thomas, Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Clemson linebacker Ben Boulware and North Carolina receiver Ryan Switzer.

Thomas, Kaaya and Syracuse linebacker Zaire Franklin are all making repeat appearances at media days. A dozen of the 28 players who will be in attendance had earned All-ACC recognition last season.

Also, it must be a really good sign for the health of Duke quarterback Thomas Sirk if the Blue Devils are posting him up publicly at media days.

The only real marquee name missing may be Pitt running back James Conner, but that is certainly understandable given that he is not even two full months removed from being declared cancer-free as he readies to return for the 2016 season.

The ACC Kickoff is July 21-22 at The Westin Charlotte. The format will be a bit different this year, as Coastal division teams only will go through the ringer on Day 1 before ceding to the Atlantic on Day 2. (In previous years players from both divisions handled Day 1 duties, with coaches from both divisions highlighting Day 2.)

Here is the complete list of attendees: