Cardinals release first depth chart

GLENDALE, Ariz. -- It may be the preseason but the Cardinals' first depth chart of 2015 brought up a few questions that will be answered over the course of the next month.

Before heads start to spin, however, remember this: the depth chart was devised by the team's media relations department.

After going through the rest of the depth chart, a few things caught my attention:

In some situations, especially on defense, who's listed first or second doesn't matter because players start in different packages. For example, rookie linebacker Markus Golden has been playing with the first team in dime packages. Arizona has also been playing five or more defensive backs quite often during practice, putting Tyrann Mathieu, Rashad Johnson and Tony Jefferson on the field together at the same time.

Here's the depth chart from the Cardinals' game release:


WR: Larry Fitzgerald, Jaron Brown, Brittan Golden, Ryan Spadola, Trevor Harman

LT: Jared Veldheer, Bradley Sowell, Rob Crisp

LG: Mike Iupati, Ted Larsen, Antoine McClain, Nate Isles

C: A.Q. Shipley, Lyle Sendlein, Anthony Steen

RG: Jonathan Cooper, Earl Watford, Jon Halapio

RT: Bobby Massie, D.J. Humphries, Cameron Bradfield

TE: Darren Fells, Troy Niklas, Gannon Sinclair

WR: Michael Floyd, John Brown, J.J. Nelson, Jaxon Shipley, Travis Harvey

QB: Carson Palmer, Drew Stanton, Logan Thomas, Phillip Sims

RB: Andre Ellington, Kerwynn Williams, Stepfan Taylor, Marion Grice, David Johnson, Robert Hughes, Paul Lasike

TE: Ifeanyi Momah, Jermaine Gresham, Gerald Christian


DE: Calais Campbell Cory Redding, Josh Mauro, Rodney Gunter

NT: Corey Peters, Alameda Ta'amu, Xavier Williams

DT: Frostee Rucker, Ed Stinson, Matt Shaughnessy

SAM: Lorenzo Alexander, LaMarr Woodley, Markus Golden

ILB: Sean Weatherspoon, Kenny Demens, Darryl Sharpton, Gabe Martin, Alani Fua

ILB: Kevin Minter, Glenn Carson, Andrae Kirk, Edwin Jackson

WILL: Alex Okafor, Kareem Martin, Shaq Riddick, Zack Wagenmann

LCB: Patrick Peterson, Jimmy Legree, Cariel Brooks, Darren Woodard, Shaquille Richardson

RCB: Jerraud Powers, Justin Bethel, C.J. Roberts, Jonte Green

SS: Tony Jefferson, Deone Bucannon, Harold Jones-Quartey, Brandon Person

FS: Tyrann Mathieu, Rashad Johnson, Chris Clemons, D.J. Campbell


K: Chandler Catanzaro

P: Dave Zastudil, Drew Butler

LS: Mike Leach

H: Dave Zastudil, Drew Butler

KR: Brittan Golden, J.J. Nelson, Kerwynn Williams, Jaxon Shipley

PR: Brittan Golden, J.J. Nelson, John Brown, Patrick Peterson