Cards' first depth chart mostly status quo

GLENDALE, Ariz. -- Five days before their first preseason game, the Arizona Cardinals revealed their initial depth chart of training camp.

While a lot of stock shouldn't be put into it because camp is only eight days old and it's for a game that Arizona won't even be watching film to prepare for, there were a few interesting takeaways. Despite not having reported to camp yet, outside linebacker John Abraham is still listed as the starting WILL linebacker. Matt Shaughnessy is the starting SAM while Larry Foote and Kevin Minter are starting at inside linebacker.

Rookie Logan Thomas is listed as the fourth-string quarterback behind third-string Ryan Lindley, despite taking most of the third-team snaps in camp. Arians announced Monday that Thomas will be playing most of the fourth quarter on Saturday.

Tony Jefferson is listed as the starting strong safety while Tyrann Mathieu is atop the free safety chart, despite still being on the physically unable to perform list. Rookie safety Deone Bucannon is behind Jefferson.

Ted Ginn is listed as the kick and punt returner while Patrick Peterson is listed as the second-string punt returner.

Receiver Jaron Brown is listed in the top four of receivers. At running back, Stepfan Taylor is second Jonathan Dwyer is third and Robert Hughes is fourth.

Here's the depth chart that was released Monday:


WR: Larry Fitzgerald, Ted Ginn, John Brown, Brittan Golden, Reggie Dunn

LT: Jared Veldheer, Nate Potter, Kelvin Palmer

LG: Jonathan Cooper, Earl Watford, John Estes

C: Lyle Sendlein, Ted Larsen, Tom Draheim

RG: Paul Fanaika, Philip Blake, Anthony Steen

RT: Bobby Massie, Max Starks, Bradley Sowell

TE: Jake Ballard, Troy Niklas, Darren Fells

WR: Michael Floyd, Jaron Brown, Walt Powell, Dan Buckner, Kevin Ozier

QB: Carson Palmer, Drew Stanton, Ryan Lindley, Logan Thomas

TE: John Carlson, Rob Housler, Andre Hardy


DE: Calais Campbell, Kareem Martin, Ed Stinson

NT: Dan Williams, Alameda Ta'amu*, Bruce Gaston, Christian Tupou

DT: Darnell Dockett, Frostee Rucker, Anthony McCloud, Justin Renfrow

SAM: Matt Shaughnessy, Sam Acho, Adrian Tracy, Derrell Johnson

ILB: Larry Foote, Kenny Demens, Ernie Sims, Keenan Clayton

ILB: Kevin Minter, Lorenzo Alexander, JoJo Dickson, Jonathan Brown

WILL: John Abraham, Alex Okafor, Marcus Benard, Glenn Carson, Trevardo Williams

LCB: Patrick Peterson, Justin Bethel, Eddie Whitley, Brandon Sermons

RCB: Antonio Cromartie, Jerraud Powers, Bryan McCann, Teddy Williams, Jimmy Legree

SS: Tony Jefferson, Deone Bucannon, Anthony Walters

FS: Tyrann Mathieu*, Rashad Johnson, Curtis Taylor, Orhian Johnson


K: Jay Feely, Chandler Catanzaro

P: Dave Zastudil

LS: Mike Leach

H: Dave Zastudil

KR: Ted Ginn, John Brown, Walt Powell, Reggie Dunn

PR: Ted Ginn, Patrick Peterson, John Brown, Walt Powell