Adrian Clayborn named Falcons' Ed Block Courage Award winner

The Atlanta Falcons have announced that defensive lineman Adrian Clayborn is the team's winner of the Ed Block Courage Award.

The honor is given to a player who exemplifies commitments to sportsmanship and courage as well as to being a role model in the community. It is solely voted upon by the players.

"It means a lot because the whole team voted on it, obviously," Clayborn said Thursday. "It just means that my peers saw my leadership. They saw what football means to me and what I've done in the community, just all of that."

Clayborn mentioned Play 60 events and a shopping spree with families at Publix as the most rewarding community events.

"It's stuff like that, things that don't get talked about," Clayborn said. "It's great to give back to the community."

On the field, Clayborn completed his first season with the Falcons with a team-high 15 quarterback hits to go with three sacks and four tackles for loss.

Clayborn signed a one-year, $3 million deal before the 2015 season. Now it's the Falcons' move if they want to sign him to a new deal.

"I believe Dan Quinn is taking this team in the right direction," Clayborn said. "It's a first-class organization. If it works out where I can come back, I'd love to be a part of it."