Will Hill, six other Ravens make AFC North's all-penalty team

The AFC North all-penalty team will bring back some bad memories for the Baltimore Ravens.

Will Hill had the most penalties among division safeties with nine, although some might dispute that number. Hill's potential game-sealing interception in Oakland in Week 2 was negated by a questionable holding call. One play later, the Raiders scored the winning touchdown.

Likewise, Elvis Dumervil topped the AFC North's outside linebackers with seven. His most memorable one (or is it forgettable?) came in November when his face mask penalty as time expired allowed Jacksonville to kick the winning field goal. Of course, the penalty should never have occurred because the officials missed a false start on the Jaguars that cost Baltimore the game.

The Ravens led the AFC North with 121 penalties in 2015, but they surprisingly didn't have the most players on the AFC North all-penalty team. Baltimore had seven players make the team, which ranked second behind the division champion Cincinnati Bengals (eight). The Cleveland Browns had six players and the Pittsburgh Steelers only had three.

Of Hill's team-leading nine penalties, four were for unnecessary roughness. Offensive lineman Kelechi Osemele, who finished second on the Ravens with eight penalties, was flagged three times in the final two games when he played left tackle (two false starts and one illegal formation).

As for Dumervil, five of his eight penalties were the result of offside or a neutral zone infraction. It should be noted that officials didn't call one holding call on anyone blocking Dumervil all season.

The Ravens' 121 penalties in 2015 are tied for the fourth-most in the team history. The last time Baltimore had that many flags was 2012, when the Ravens won the Super Bowl.



QB: Johnny Manziel, Browns (five)

RB: Duke Johnson, Browns (two)

FB: Kyle Juszczyk, Ravens (six)

LT: Andrew Whitworth, Bengals (eight)

LG: Kelechi Osemele, Ravens (eight)

C: Cody Wallace, Steelers (13)

RG: Cam Erving, Browns (five)

RT: Andre Smith, Bengals (11)

TE: Maxx Williams, Ravens (five) and Gary Barnidge, Browns (five)

WR: A.J. Green, Bengals (six); Antonio Brown, Steelers (five); and Marvin Jones, Bengals (five)


DL: Carlos Dunlap, Bengals (four); Steve McLendon, Steelers (four); Timmy Jernigan, Ravens (three) and Domata Peko, Bengals (three)

OLB: Elvis Dumervil, Ravens (seven) and Paul Kruger, Browns (five)

ILB: Vontaze Burfict, Bengals (six)

CB: Dre Kirkpatrick, Bengals (15) and Tramon Williams, Browns (eight)

S: Will Hill, Ravens (nine) and Kendrick Lewis, Ravens (four)