Terrell Suggs wins Ravens MVP; Eric Weddle named Media Good Guy

OWINGS MILLS, Md. -- Baltimore Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs seemed genuinely surprised Friday in winning the team Most Valuable Player award for the first time.

"Wow. Seriously," Suggs said as his jaw dropped. "I didn't know. I swear to God, I thought it was Media Good Guy. That's flattering."

Suggs leads the Ravens with 11 sacks and four forced fumbles. The Ravens are 6-1 this season in games in which Suggs has recorded a full sack. His fourth-quarter strip sack sealed a 23-16 win over the Houston Texans in late November.

He ranks as the franchise's all-time leader in sacks (125.5) and forced fumbles (36).

"This is flattering, man. I'm like, speechless," Suggs said. "This is awesome, but it will be a sour note if we don't win on Sunday. That's pretty much by big focus right now. This is great, one of the achievements that we all have achieved this year. But we want to be having a football game next week. Thank you guys. I'm honored and I'm going to live up to it this Sunday."

Ravens safety Eric Weddle received the "Good Guy" award, which is also voted on by the local media.

"I'm a man of my word and respect everyone's job," Weddle said. "It's pretty sweet that you guys think that highly of me, so I appreciate it and shoot, let's keep it rolling."

Ravens MVP award winners: Jamal Lewis (2003), Ed Reed (2004), Adalius Thomas (2005), Steve McNair (2006), Willis McGahee (2007), Ed Reed (2008), Ray Rice (2009), Haloti Ngata (2010), Ray Rice (2011 and 2012), Justin Tucker (2013), Justin Forsett (2014), Marshal Yanda (2015), Justin Tucker (2016) and Terrell Suggs (2017).

Media Good Guy winners: Gary Baxter (2003), Anthony Weaver (2004), Jamal Lewis (2005), Bart Scott (2006), Derrick Mason (2007), Terrell Suggs (2008), Jarret Johnson (2009), Chris Carr (2010), Bernard Pollard (2011), Arthur Jones (2012), Joe Flacco (2013), Torrey Smith (2014), Jimmy Smith (2015), Zachary Orr (2016) and Eric Weddle (2017).