Season wrap: TCU

It’s hard to sum up TCU’s second season in the Big 12 as anything other than disappointing. The Horned Frogs were supposed to contend for a conference title and earned a top-three spot in the Big 12 preseason media poll. They did not live up to those expectations.

What followed was a 4-8 season that saw TCU lose seven Big 12 games as well as one of its best players, defensive end Devonte Fields, for nearly the entire season and its leader on offense, quarterback Casey Pachall, for five games.

Four of those losses came by three points or fewer. For that, TCU had a stagnant and struggling offense to blame. The Frogs ranked No. 104 in FBS in total offense and No. 87 in scoring offense.

Big changes are coming to that offense next season, but before we start looking ahead let’s take a quick look back at how TCU fared in 2013.

Offensive MVP: QB Trevone Boykin. In this case, Boykin was both most valuable and most versatile when it came to his role his this Horned Frogs offense. He started six games at quarterback in place of the injured Pachall and threw for 1,198 yards, but also added 313 rushing yards and 204 receiving yards while chipping in at several other positions.

Defensive MVP: CB Jason Verrett. There’s a reason why, even on a defense that had an unusually rough year, the coaches of the Big 12 named this guy their co-defensive player of the year. He’s a true shutdown corner, breaking up 14 passes and nabbing two interceptions in his senior year.

Best moment: TCU gave Baylor a heck of a fight in its season finale, and played a lot of teams close, but in terms of its best victory we’d have to go with a 21-17 road win at Iowa State in which Boykin scored in the final minute to snap a three-game losing streak.

Worst moment: An overtime loss to West Virginia wasn’t good, but losing 33-31 to Kansas State a week after that ISU victory was a tough blow. A last-second field goal was the difference and gave TCU its seventh loss, ensuring the Frogs would not play in a bowl game for the first time since 2004.