Three Big 12 players on Thorpe watch list

Only three Big 12 players popped up Friday on the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to college football's most outstanding defensive back:

The three players above also were named to the watch list for the Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded to the best defensive player overall. Carter and Diggs also were on the watch list for the Bednarik, which goes to the defensive player of the year.

On Monday, the watch list releases will continue with the Butkus Award (best linebacker) and Lombardi Award (best lineman).