Preseason All-Big 12 team, honors released

Five days before Big 12 media days get underway, the conference has released its official preseason All-Big 12 team as well as its preseason award-winners, as voted on by conference media.

Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty was named Big 12 Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. No surprise there. Oklahoma State RB/WR Tyreek Hill, the speedy juco transfer from Garden City (Kansas) Community College, received preseason Newcomer of the Year honors.

The more debatable award, preseason Defensive Player of the Year, went to TCU defensive end Devonte Fields. He played in just three games in 2013 due to a foot injury but was voted the league's top defender and newcomer in 2012 as a true freshman.

Baylor led the way with seven players on the All-Big 12 team. Kansas State had five selections on the squad, and Oklahoma received four. Only one Big 12 program -- Oklahoma State -- did not have at least one player make the team.

All-Big 12 Team

QB Bryce Petty, Baylor

RB Shock Linwood, Baylor

RB Malcolm Brown, Texas

WR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

WR Antwan Goodley, Baylor

TE E.J. Bibbs, Iowa State

OL Spencer Drango, Baylor

OL Cody Whitehair, Kansas State

OL B.J. Finney, Kansas State

OL Daryl Williams, Oklahoma

OL Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech

DL Ryan Mueller, Kansas State

DL Devonte Fields, TCU

DL Chucky Hunter, TCU

DL Cedric Reed, Texas

LB Bryce Hager, Baylor

LB Ben Heeney, Kansas

LB Eric Striker, Oklahoma

DB Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma

DB Sam Carter, TCU

DB Quandre Diggs, Texas

DB Karl Joseph, West Virginia

PK Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma

P Spencer Roth, Baylor

KR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

PR Levi Norwood, Baylor

There aren't many snubs to be found from this year's team. You can make a case for a bunch of other players -- TCU cornerback Kevin White, Baylor defensive end Shawn Oakman, Texas' Johnathan Gray and Malcom Brown, West Virginia's Quinton Spain and Nick O'Toole. But based on 2013 performance, this list looks about right.

Any more exclusions stand out to you? Should Ryan Mueller or someone else win DPOY? Hit us with your complaints in the comments below.