Get to know the Horned Frogs

As we await the official announcement of TCU becoming the 17th Big East member (the press conference will be held at 2 p.m. ET), here are some facts to help you get to know your new conference brother/rival:

TCU Horned Frogs

Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Enrollment: 8,865

Colors: Purple and White

Stadium: Amon G. Carter Stadium (capacity: 44,358)

First year of football: 1896

2010 average home attendance: 42,466

Head coach/record: Gary Patterson/97-28

Previous conference affiliations: Southwest (1923-95), WAC (1996-2000), Conference USA (2001-04), Mountain West (2005-2012).

Most famous players: LaDainian Tomlinson (1997-2000); Davey O'Brien (1936-38); Johnny Vaught (1934-36); Sam Baugh (1934-36); Jim Swink (1954-56); Bob Lilly (1958-60); Kenneth Davis (1982-85).

Major bowl history: 2010 Fiesta Bowl (lost to Boise State); 1959 Cotton Bowl (tied Air Force); 1957 Cotton Bowl (beat Syracuse); 1956 Cotton Bowl (lost to Mississippi); 1952 Cotton Bowl (lost to Kentucky); 1945 Cotton Bowl (lost to Oklahoma A&M); 1942 Orange Bowl (lost to Georgia); 1939 Sugar Bowl (beat Carnegie Tech); 1937 Cotton Bowl (beat Marquette); 1936 Sugar Bowl (beat LSU).

National championships claimed: 1935, 1938

First-team All-Americans: 41

Conference titles: 17 (Mountain West champions in 2005, 2009 and 2010).

Most successful coaches: Dutch Meyer (109-79-13 from 1934-52); Abe Martin (74-64-7 from 1967-70); Dennis Franchione (25-10 from 1998-2000) and Patterson.

Top 10 finishes since 2005: Four

Current regular-season winning streak: 25 games

Current players on NFL rosters: 12

Key rivals: SMU, Baylor, Texas Tech, Utah, BYU.

Other facts:

  • A $105 million stadium enhancement is underway and scheduled to be completed in 2012.

  • TCU's enrollment includes 3,965 male students, meaning football players make up 3.2 percent of all male students at the school.

  • TCU's endowment ranks among the top 60 colleges in the country

  • The Horned Frog became the school mascot in 1897. The school was known as AddRan Christian University until it was renamed TCU in 1902.

  • Famous alumni include CBS news anchor Bob Schieffer and legendary sportswriter Dan Jenins.