UConn's Manuel to serve on council of ADs

NCAA president Mark Emmert told the Wall Street Journal's Rachel Bachman this past weekend that he would form a council of 10 athletic directors who would meet regularly with NCAA brass starting in July.

The names making up that group of 10 were unveiled Tuesday, with the paper reporting that UConn's Warde Manuel is among them.

Manuel will be joined by Kentucky's Mitch Barnhart, San Jose State's Gene Bleymaier, Arizona's Greg Byrne, Kansas State's John Currie, Central Michigan's Dave Heeke, Clemson's Dan Radakovich, Ohio State's Gene Smith, Peter Fields at Division I-AA Montana State and Peg Bradley-Doppes at Division I-AAA Denver (the non-football division), the paper reports.

Emmert said that he wanted to further empower athletic directors, who are closest to the day-to-day operations of college sports, but whose voices have seemingly been minimized with presidents making key decisions.

The group certainly seems like a strong start, with a diverse contingent featuring ADs from every BCS conference, the MAC, the WAC and two lower divisions.