Michigan (finally) names team captains

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

Michigan first-year coach Rich Rodriguez caused a bit of a stir this summer when he announced that he'd break from tradition and not have players elect captains for the season. Instead, Michigan went with a different set of senior captains each week, selected by the coaching staff.

The Wolverines finally named their four permanent season captains Thursday night: tight end Mike Massey, defensive end Tim Jamison and defensive tackles Terrance Taylor and Will Johnson. No major surprises here, as the defensive line was by far Michigan's most experienced unit entering the season.

Michigan players elected the permanent captains Sunday.

"These four men have provided tremendous leadership and represented our program at the highest level throughout the season," Rodriguez said in a statement. "Their peers have elected them captain, the highest honor that a Michigan football player can receive. Mike, Tim, Will and Terrance are great ambassadors for this program and will be great alumni."

This marks the first time that three defensive linemen have been elected captains at Michigan. Massey's older brother Pat also served as a captain at Michigan in 2005.

Michigan finishes its season Saturday at No. 10 Ohio State (ABC, noon ET).