Five from Big Ten on Camp Award list

Five Big Ten players have been named to the preseason watch list for the Walter Camp Award, given to the player of the year in college football.

They are:

All five players are in the mix for other national awards, so it's no surprise to see their names appear here. The one notable omission is Ohio State defensive lineman Cameron Heyward, who could be the best of the bunch by season's end. The Walter Camp Award last went to a Big Ten player in 2006, when Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith, also the Heisman Trophy winner that year, took home the hardware.

The 30-member watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in early November, and the winner will be announced Dec. 9 on the 6 p.m. ET SportsCenter on ESPN.