Big Ten has three unanimous All-Americans

Only 10 FBS players can call themselves unanimous All-Americans in 2010, and three of them come from the Big Ten.

Purdue defensive end Ryan Kerrigan, Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones and Wisconsin offensive tackle Gabe Carimi are among the 10 unanimous All-Americans. According to the NCAA, unanimous status is given to those who appear on all of the following All-America teams: American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Foundation, Football Writers Association of America, Associated Press and The Sporting News.

The Sporting News revealed its All-America squad today, which made it official for Kerrigan, Jones and Carimi.

A few notes:

  • Kerrigan is Purdue's first unanimous All-America selection since Mark Herrmann and Dave Young in 1980 and only the seventh in school history. He's also the only unanimous All-American this season to have played for a team with a losing record.

  • Jones is Michigan State's first unanimous All-America selection since wide receiver Charles Rogers in 2002. Jones is the only FBS player to be named a first-team AP All-American in each of the past two seasons.

  • Carimi, the 2010 Outland Trophy winner, is Wisconsin's first unanimous All-American since offensive tackle Joe Thomas in 2006. Thomas also earned the Outland Trophy that year.

Congrats to all three players. Well deserved.