Five players receive B1G Medal of Honor

The Big Ten on Wednesday announced its 2011 Medal of Honor winners. This award goes to a male athlete and a female athlete from each Big Ten school and recognizes a graduating senior who has "demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics."

Five Big Ten football players are among this year's male Medal of Honor winners.

They are:

  • Indiana QB Ben Chappell

  • Iowa G Julian Vandervelde

  • Penn State G Stefen Wisniewski

  • Purdue TE Kyle Adams

  • Wisconsin T Gabe Carimi

All five players also were named to the Big Ten's fall Academic All-Big Ten team.

Congrats to all the winners.