Four from Big Ten on Thorpe Award list

A new week brings a new batch of preseason award watch lists.

On Monday, the Jim Thorpe Award announced its list of nominated players for 2011. The Thorpe Award goes to the nation's best defensive back. Here's the list of Big Ten players who made it:

  • Alfonzo Dennard, CB, Nebraska

  • Antonio Fenelus, CB, Wisconsin

  • Brian Peters, S, Northwestern

  • Trenton Robinson, S, Michigan State

And that's it. Some interesting omissions here, including Iowa's Shaun Prater, Purdue's Ricardo Allen and Wisconsin's Aaron Henry. I'm really surprised not to see Prater. But remember these preseason lists are merely a guideline and that all players are eligible for the award whether they made the preseason watch list or not.