2011 All-Big Ten teams, individual awards

The Big Ten announced its 2011 all-conference teams and individual awards Monday night. The winners for Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced Wednesday.

Here are the All-Big Ten teams ...

First-team offense thoughts: I'm a bit surprised Wisconsin running back Montee Ball is the only unanimous selection with the media and coaches. Both groups got the running backs and wide receivers right. It seems like the offensive tackle spot is a bit weak this season, but Reilly Reiff and Josh Oglesby are good players. Tough call at center between Wisconsin's Peter Konz and Michigan's David Molk, and I'm not surprised to see a split there.

First-team defense thoughts: The first-team defensive line selections are solid. I would have gone with Ohio State's John Simon ahead of Purdue's Kawann Short for the fourth spot, but both men had outstanding seasons. There's also a tough call at linebacker. Nebraska's Lavonte David has to be a first-team selection. So should Wisconsin's Mike Taylor. I would go with Penn State's Gerald Hodges over Wisconsin's Chris Borland, although Borland had a very good season.

There were some curious choices at defensive back. Michigan State cornerback Johnny Adams absolutely should be on both lists but was placed on the second team by the media. I'm very surprised the coaches didn't include Michigan State safety Trenton Robinson on the first or second team. Nebraska's Brett Maher is a consensus first-team selection as both a kicker and a punter.

Second-team offense thoughts: The coaches and media split on quarterback, as the coaches went with Michigan State's Kirk Cousins and the media picked Michigan's Denard Robinson. It's a tough call, but I would have gone with Cousins. I don't see how Wisconsin tight end Jacob Pedersen misses the coaches' second team. Same goes for Northwestern wide receiver Jeremy Ebert. Ohio State left tackle Mike Adams made the coaches' team despite missing the first five games because of a suspension.

Second-team defense thoughts: The media made a good call with Illinois linebacker Jonathan Brown. I'm glad to see defensive tackle Mike Martin and defensive ends William Gholston and Michael Buchanan make both teams. Both Purdue specialists -- kicker Carson Wiggs and punter Cody Webster -- made the coaches' list, while the media went with Penn State's Anthony Fera, who had a nice season, and Webster.

Here are the honorable mention selections:


ILLINOIS: Jeff Allen, Jonathan Brown, Derek Dimke, Terry Hawthorne, Ian Thomas; INDIANA: Mitch Ewald, Jeff Thomas; IOWA: Broderick Binns, James Ferentz, Eric Guthrie, Micah Hyde, James Morris, Markus Zusevics; MICHIGAN: Kenny Demens, J.T. Floyd, Kevin Koger, Junior Hemingway, Denard Robinson, Fitzgerald Toussaint, Ryan Van Bergen; MICHIGAN STATE: Denicos Allen, Le’Veon Bell, Keshawn Martin, Trenton Robinson, Marcus Rush; MINNESOTA: Kim Royston; NEBRASKA: Will Compton, Ben Cotton, Spencer Long, Marcel Jones, Baker Steinkuhler; NORTHWESTERN: Jeremy Ebert, Jordan Mabin, Brian Mulroe, Al Netter, Dan Persa, Brian Peters; OHIO STATE: Johnathan Hankins, Dan Herron, Jack Mewhort, Jake Stoneburner; PENN STATE: Drew Astorino, Anthony Fera, Jordan Hill, D’Anton Lynn, Derek Moye, Chima Okoli, Chaz Powell, Johnnie Troutman; PURDUE: Dennis Kelly, Joe Holland; WISCONSIN: Jared Abbrederis, Patrick Butrym, Antonio Fenelus, Peter Konz, Brad Nortman, Jacob Pederson, Ricky Wagner.


ILLINOIS: Derek Dimke, Terry Hawthorne, Tavon Wilson; INDIANA: Mitch Ewald; IOWA: Mike Daniels, James Ferentz, Adam Gettis, Eric Guthrie, James Morris, Tyler Nielsen, Shaun Prater, Markus Zusevics; MICHIGAN: Kenny Demens, J.T. Floyd, Kevin Koger, Jordan Kovacs, Taylor Lewan, Craig Roh, Fitzgerald Toussaint, Ryan Van Bergen; MICHIGAN STATE: Le’Veon Bell, Max Bullough, Dan Conroy, Kirk Cousins, Darqueze Dennard, Brian Linthicum, Chris McDonald, Chris Norman, Kevin Pickelman, Marcus Rush; MINNESOTA: Chris Bunders, Kim Royston; NEBRASKA: Mike Caputo, Austin Cassidy, Will Compton, Ben Cotton, Marcel Jones, Cameron Meredith, Daimion Stafford, Baker Steinkuhler; NORTHWESTERN: Kain Colter, Jordan Mabin, Brian Mulroe, Al Netter, Dan Persa; OHIO STATE: C.J. Barnett, Mike Brewster, Johnathan Hankins, Jack Mewhort, Tyler Moeller, Andrew Norwell, Jake Stoneburner, Andrew Sweat; PENN STATE: Drew Astorino, Quinn Barham, Jack Crawford, Anthony Fera, Jordan Hill, D’Anton Lynn, Chima Okoli, Chaz Powell, Nate Stupar, Johnnie Troutman; PURDUE: Ricardo Allen, Dwayne Beckford, Joe Holland, Dennis Kelly, Carson Wiggs; WISCONSIN: Jared Abbrederis, Patrick Butrym, Aaron Henry, Brad Nortman, Nick Toon, Ricky Wagner, Philip Welch.

Finally, here are the individual award winners ...

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: Russell Wilson, Wisconsin

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Marvin McNutt, Iowa

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Drake Dunsmore, Northwestern

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: David Molk, Michigan

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Devon Still, Penn State

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Lavonte David, Nebraska

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Alfonzo Dennard, Nebraska

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Brett Maher, Nebraska

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Brett Maher, Nebraska