Paterno coaching award discontinued

The Maxwell Football Club announced Monday that it will no longer present the Joseph V. Paterno Coach of the Year award.

The club, which is based outside Philadelphia, launched the award last year "to honor the spirit of Coach Paterno, whose longtime success on the field has been matched only by his impact away from it." Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer received the inaugural award in 2010.

Earlier this month, the Big Ten announced it would remove Paterno's name from the league championship trophy, saying it would be "inappropriate" to keep Paterno's name in light of the sex-abuse scandal at Penn State that resulted in Paterno's firing. The Stagg-Paterno championship trophy now only bears the name of former University of Chicago coach Amos Alonzo Stagg.