Three B1G teams recognized for APR

The NCAA's complete Academic Progress Rate report for 2011-12 will be released next week, but the public recognition awards are out for teams finishing in the top 10 percent of their sport.

Three Big Ten teams earned awards: Northwestern, Ohio State and Wisconsin. Future Big Ten member Rutgers also is among the 13 FBS squads recognized. Northwestern ranks No. 1 in APR and Wisconsin is No. 5. The Big Ten is second behind the ACC (4) in numbers of teams recognized for the most-recent multi-year APR scores. National champion Alabama and Rose Bowl champion Stanford also are on the list of teams receiving awards.

Northwestern and Ohio State are two of just four FBS teams to receive APR awards in each of the past three years (Boise State and Clemson are the others).

A total of 53 Big Ten varsity teams received APR awards for 2011-12, including three men's basketball teams: Indiana, Michigan and Purdue. Ten of the 12 Big Ten schools had teams recognized. Northwestern led the way with 13 teams recognized (for Big Ten sports), followed by Penn State with eight and Ohio State with six.