Writers tap OSU's Miller for preseason honor

Notice a theme to this year's Big Ten preseason writers poll? It's all about the Ohio State Buckeyes.

Urban Meyer's crew is the overwhelming choice to win the Big Ten this season, and in a vote nearly as lopsided, junior quarterback Braxton Miller has been selected as the Big Ten's preseason offensive player of the year. Miller, who earned Big Ten offensive player of the year honors and finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting in 2012, received 24 of 26 votes in the poll, conducted by The (Cleveland) Plain Dealer's Doug Lesmerises.

Both Brian Bennett and I voted in the poll, and both of our votes went to Miller, who passed for 2,039 yards and ran for 1,271 in 2012. Miller accounted for 28 touchdowns (15 pass, 13 rush) and finished second in the league in total offense (275.8 ypg). He's the Big Ten's second leading returning rusher behind Northwestern's Venric Mark (1,371 yards).

Nebraska quarterback Taylor Martinez and Michigan quarterback Devin Gardner each received one vote in the writers poll. Wisconsin running back Montee Ball was last year's pick for preseason offensive player of the year in a much closer vote.

Ohio State swept the awards in the poll as linebacker Ryan Shazier was selected preseason defensive player of the year.