B's don't knock Subban for net bump

MONTREAL -- With the Bruins trailing by a goal in the waning seconds of Game 3 against the Montreal Canadiens, and with Boston goalie Tuukka Rask on the bench for an extra attacker, the Bruins had control of the puck in the offensive zone when Montreal defenseman P.K. Subban knocked the net off its moorings.

The whistle blew, and there was no penalty called on the play. Had the referee thought he intentionally knocked the net free, he could have called for a penalty shot. Instead, the Canadiens finished with a 4-2 win and now have a 2-1 series lead.

In the Bruins’ locker room after the game, the players had mixed emotions about Subban’s play.

“He's playing the clock, and he's trying to make something happen,” assistant captain Patrice Bergeron said. “Maybe he felt that we were coming hard. You've got to leave it to the refs, and they didn't make the call. It's about bearing down and starting a lot earlier to make it a game.”

Bruins top-line center David Krejci, who had the puck when the whistle blew, offered a similar sentiment.

“After [Subban] rimmed the puck, Torey [Krug] got the puck and he found me. I had so much room in front of me, I could have walked in. You never know what can happen with eight to 10 seconds left,” Krejci said. “Yeah, it was frustrating at the time, but I don't know if that was a penalty or not.”

By not calling for a penalty shot, the officials obviously felt Subban inadvertently knocked the net off.

“I didn’t see it,” Bruins forward Jarome Iginla said. “It happened pretty fast. I wasn’t sure how it came off, but I didn’t see. I wish [a penalty shot] was the case.”

Rask smiled after the game when asked about Subban’s play.

“Yeah, well, a veteran move, I guess,” he said. “I mean, everybody does it. Referees, sometimes they call it, sometimes they don’t.”

Rask said he didn’t know it could have been a penalty shot.

“Is it? I didn’t know that. Maybe I should’ve bitched about it then,” Rask said.